FWE congratulates Planning Committee member, Randy Bennett on receiving AERA’s prestigious Lindquist Award

In The News

FWE congratulates Planning Committee member, Randy Bennett on receiving…

2020 Award Recipient

Randy E. Bennett
Educational Testing Service

Dr. Randy Bennett holds the Norman O. Frederiksen Chair in Assessment Innovation at the Educational Testing Service.  During much of his career at ETS, Dr. Bennett has worked on applying insights from cognitive psychology to improving educational assessment with a special emphasis on linking assessment to instruction. For over a decade he directed CBAL—a project on Cognitively Based Assessment of, for, and as Learning at ETS where he has developed a unified model for formative and summative assessments in reading, writing and science. Dr. Bennett is a prolific scholar having edited or co-edited seven books, thirty book chapters and seventy journal articles as well as scores of technical reports. In addition to this award, he was elected as president of both the National Council of Measurement in Education and the International Association for Educational Assessment.

Read More – https://www.aera.net/About-AERA/Awards/E-F-Lindquist-Award

Named in honor of an outstanding scholar and researcher, this annual award is presented jointly by the American Educational Research Association and ACT in recognition of outstanding applied or theoretical research in the field of testing and measurement. The award is meant to acknowledge a body of research of an empirical, theoretical, or integrative nature rather than a single study. Although the research is not required to have led directly to improved educational practices, it should nevertheless be rich in suggestions for additional research that does hold such promise. Particular emphasis will be given to research that has advanced the companion goals of greater understanding and improved use of testing and measurement techniques. Awardees may include individuals conducting research in a broad array of disciplines, such as education and psychology. 

The winner of the award will be invited to give the E. F. Lindquist Award Lecture at the following Annual Meeting. An article emanating from the lecture will be considered for publications in the Journal of Educational and Behavioral Statistics.

Before 1987, the Award recognized only outstanding research in college student development. In 1987 and subsequent years it acquired a broader scope of recognition.